Main Content

Squadron History

Squadron History

Coming Soon

Squadron Awards

Squadron of Merit 2024, 2020, 2019, 2016 & 2004

Squadron of the Year 2021, 2019, 2018, 2015, & 2011

Squadron Commendation 2012

Squadron Commander of the Year 2021, 2018 & 2015

Quality Cadet Unit Award 2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018 & 2017

Aerospace Education Achievement Award 2023

Previous Commanders

Lt Col David Sellen (November 2021 - Present)


Lt Col Peter Goertzen (November 2017 - November 2021)

During three of his four years in command, the Henderson composite Squadron won Nevada Wing Squadron of the year. Lt Col Goertzen also helped start a flight scholarship to ensure cadets have the opportunity to solo their first flight in a CAP Cessna and revitalized the glider program in Southern Nevada. He secured a facility, Wendover Air Field, UT, to host Civil Air Patrol 2021 summer encampment in which he was the commander. Lt Col Goertzen was awarded the DAR Excellence in Community Service Award in 2021 and an Exceptional Service Award in October of 2022. Most importantly, Lt Col Goertzen makes cadets his priority and enjoys helping them become leaders. 


Lt Col Thomas Cooper (October 2013 - November 2017)






Lt Col Gene Pasinski (October 2008 - October 2013)


Lt Col Preston Perrenot (2007 - 2008)

Lieutenant Colonel Perrenot entered the Civil Air Patrol as a Cadet in 1977 when he joined the El Paso Composite Squadron in Texas Wing. He became a Senior Member with the grade of Warrant Officer in 1981 while a member of the South Brevard Composite Squadron in Florida Wing. Since transferring to Nevada Wing in 1985, Colonel Perrenot has served in the Clark County Senior Squadron, Nellis Senior Squadron, Henderson Composite Squadron, and Nevada Wing Headquarters. He has held the positions of Squadron Commander, Supply Officer, Leadership Officer Standardization and Evaluation Officer, Scheduling Officer for Green Flag West, and Drug Demand Reduction Administrator. 

Colonel Perrenot was a Senior Observer, Senior Ground Team Member and held Master Ratings in Cadet Programs and Inspections. His awards include the Exceptional Service Award, the Meritorious Service Award, Commander’s Commendations, Civil Air Patrol Achievement Award, National Commander’s Unit Citation, Civil Air Patrol Unit Citation, the Gill Robb Wilson Award, and he was named Pacific Region Inspector General of the Year for 2011. He is a retired Police Officer.


Lt Col Steve Rodgers 

Capt Jim Pinner (September 2004 - Unknown)

Lt Col Jerry Osgood (December 2000 - January 2004)

Capt Elliot Alper (June 1998)

Capt Fred Chatman (November 1997)

Previous Cadet Commanders

C/2d Lt Robert Caride (December 2022 - Present)

C/2d Lt Heili Petrisca (March 2021 - December 2022)

C/Lt Col Dana Surwill (July 2019 - March 2021)

C/Capt Callie Addleman (May 2018 - July 2019)

C/Lt Col Mark Quero (Unknown - May 2018)

C/Lt Col Abby Pasinski (September 2004 - Unknown)

C/CMSgt Joshua Tharp (June 2002 - January 2004)

C/2d Lt Kevin Perkins (February 2001 - March 2002)

C/2d Lt Carlos Jose (December 2000 - February 2001)


Nevada Wing Awards

Cadet of the Year

C/Maj Gianna Nakhle, 2023

C/Lt Col Dana Surwill, 2022


Cadet Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year

C/2d Lt Riley Durham, 2023


Squadron Commander of the Year

Lt Col Peter Goertzen, 2021

Lt Col Peter Goertzen, 2019

Lt Col Peter Goertzen, 2018

Lt Col Thomas Cooper, 2015

Lt Col Gene Pasinski


Information Technology Officer of the Year

Capt Dustin Surwill, 2018


Professional Development Officer of the Year

Capt Vivian Surwill, 2020


Pilot of the Year

Capt Robert Surwill, 2020


Aerospace Education Officer of the Year

1st Lt Thomas Whitcomb, 2020


Cadet Programs Officer of the Year

Lt Col Daniel Wilcox, 2020


Character Development Officer of the Year

2d Lt Holly Addleman, 2020


Public Affairs Officer of the Year

C/Col Dana Surwill, 2024

Squadron Member Annual Awards

Veteran of Foreign Wars Officer of the Year

C/Capt Benjamin Young, 2024

C/Capt Robert Caride, 2023

C/Lt Col Dana Surwill, 2022


Veteran of Foreign Wars Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year

C/CMSgt Zechariah Gallagher, 2024

C/CMSgt Ryan Lamping, 2023

C/CMSgt Gianna Nakhle, 2022


Daughters of the American Revolution Outstanding Cadet Award

C/CMSgt Sophie Ross, 2024

C/2d Lt Trevor Wilcox, 2023

C/CMSgt Robert Stamanis, 2022

Shayla Pedersen, 2021

C/2d Lt Payce Andersen, 2020

C/Lt Col Dana Surwill, 2019

Ken Owen, 2018


Air and Space Forces Association Outstanding Cadet Award

C/2d Lt Ryan Lamping, 2024

C/Lt Col Dana Surwill, 2021

© 2024 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.